Lapage Primary School has opted to become an Early Adopters school. This means that children in Nursery and Reception will be following a new curriculum which the government has asked schools to trial this academic year should they wish to do so. As such we are no longer required to follow the old educational system which was used to measure children’s progress or report this information to the local authority.

Teaching and learning will still take account of how children develop across the 7 areas of learning:

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are split into 17 Early Learning Goals which have now been revised and updated and will continue to be used as a measure for children at the end of the Reception year.

This new curriculum will become statutory in September 2021 meaning that every child in childcare and Early Years settings from birth to the age of 5 will be following the new criteria and objectives set out.

More Information